Skip to content

Review: One-Yard Wonders by Rebecca Yaker and Patricia Hoskins

December 24, 2010

Now I’m sure all of you have already seen this book or heard about it, but I just couldn’t help but mention it. I first found it as a gift for a friend. She’s an expert seamstress and was looking for ideas to make baby changing pads for a local children’s store. One day I was in a tiny little quilt shop in Copper Center, Alaska. (The middle of nowhere by the way.) And there, lo and behold, I stumbled across this gem of a book. It had a couple of sets of instructions for changing pads with carrying cases that I thought for sure would be perfect for my gal friend. The entire drive home I flipped through the book. Now, at this time I’d never sewn a thing. But the projects in the book looked so simple and fun – and they only use one yard of fabric – that it created in me the desire to learn how to sew. Since it’s my winter project, I bought the book for myself from Amazon, for about $15. I love it! Some instructions are a bit confusing for beginners, but the projects are not too difficult. Since they only use one yard of fabric, I’m not afraid to mess up. It’s not like I can’t afford to go pick up another yard.

Thus far I’ve made the “All-You-Need Sewing Kit” designed by Erin Evans.  It was a fun little project that taught me a few things to do on a sewing machine, like make pockets and ties. Plus, it’s a great place to store my growing collection of sewing gadgets. Right now I’m in the middle of the “Flouncy Bag” designed by Nina Perkins. So far it’s super cute and not too tricky. I suggest this book to everyone!
Disclosure of Material Connection: I have no connection to, nor was I paid by the brand or product described above.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

