Skip to content

Making Nut-Free Energy Bars

December 25, 2010
I’m allergic to tree nuts, so I often mix up my own granolas and bars. It’s amazing how many of the tasty, semi-nutritional bars have almonds and other tree nuts.
Tomorrow I’m going sledding, so tonight I whipped up a batch of nut-free energy bars using this recipe.(And yes, that’s my recipe.) 
Of course, I never really measure stuff, and I like to vary the ingredients based on what’s handy and what I’m in the mood for. Today I used flax seed, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, chocolate chips, and dried cranberries in with the oats and crisped rice cereal. The crisped rice cereal makes these babies crunch in a delightful way that bars with only oats don’t.
Mixing the Dry Ingredients
Melting the Sweet Stuff
Mixing It All Together
Ta-Da!

Make it Yours @ My Backyard Eden

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

