Skip to content

How to Make a Soft Flannel Burp Cloth

January 4, 2011
First, gather your materials. Choose soft cotton cloth diapers and soft flannel. I can cover two diapers with one yard of fabric. Wash and dry them before using.
Next, cut two pieces of fabric the same size as the diaper. I find it’s easiest to fold the fabric selvage to selvage and pin the diaper to it. I then cut around the diaper using my ruler as a straight edge.
Pin the pieces in this order: one piece of fabric right side up, one piece of fabric wrong side up, and diaper. Edge stitch all around, leaving a three-inch opening in one side to turn it right side out. As you can see, I don’t make my edges absolutely perfect. šŸ˜‰
After turning the burp cloth right side out (the diaper should now be in the middle of the two fabrics), press the opening in 1/4 inch. Edge stitch the entire cloth, closing the opening.
Next, mark the lines for quilting. I use the edges of the padded center of the diaper for my guides and my ruler to make a straight line. If you don’t have the padded center, simply make the quilt lines about four inches apart down the length.
You will end up with a soft flannel burp cloth like this, with quilting and edge stitching.
Try doing them in a couple of different fabrics for a cute little baby shower gift.




8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 1:50 pm

    Hey I love this idea! I will have to keep it in mind for gifts!! You asked me about my stackables and how I did my lettering so I thought I would drop by and explain. For the life of me I can not remember which blogs I saw this trick on (which I know makes me horrible) but I saw this on a couple of blogs a while back:1.Print out your letters off the computer2. Color the back of the paper with chalk3. you lay the letter where you want it on the wood and trace the letters. The chalk transfers onto the wood and then you just paint over it with a small brush!Its so easy and to whoever you are that thought of that- YOU ROCK!

  2. January 5, 2011 5:18 am

    Thanks for the great comments on my blog and for the great tutorial! I figured something out recently to make the lines straight on my burp clothes, I iron a fold where I want the seam and then it's straight and I can quilt it quickly!

  3. January 5, 2011 11:35 pm

    I just did a similar project using terrycloth and flannel! Im a new follower!-Victoriahttp://mrscamerahappy.blogspot.com

  4. January 6, 2011 3:11 am

    How much fun, I love them. Thanks for linking up at Giggles, Glitz & Glam!

  5. January 8, 2011 3:05 pm

    I love your Burpcloths!! Thanks for visiting my blog!! I am a new follower.Stefitsallinmyheadstefsblog.blogspot.com

  6. January 10, 2011 12:10 am

    Cute flannel burp cloth! Thanks for sharing at the craft catwalk! I hope you'll share some more great ideas again at the catwalk monday morning!

  7. January 11, 2011 8:43 pm

    I like this idea. It would make a nice addition to some other items for a shower. You can never have enough burp cloths!

  8. January 12, 2011 5:10 pm

    Great idea to use flannel! Thanks for auditioning for American Crafter:)

Leave a Reply

