Skip to content

How to Make Candy Cane Chocolate Cupcakes

January 5, 2011
I love mint and chocolate; it’s my favorite flavor combo. I also love cupcakes. I think they’re the perfect way to control portion size for dessert. That is, if I don’t eat half a dozen in one sitting. Here’s my guide for making delicious candy cane chocolate cupcakes. I love the crunch of the candy canes, and the flavors are oh-so-perfect for wintertime.

Gather ingredients: your favorite chocolate cake mix (or from scratch), eggs and oil for the cake, butter, powdered sugar, mint extract, and candy canes.
Grease cupcake tins. DO NOT USE PAPER LINERS. Mix cake batter and fill tins 2/3 full. Bake.
Let cupcakes cool completely on wire rack.
Meanwhile, make buttercream frosting. I used a recipe from an old Good Housekeeping cookbook with 1/3 cup butter, 3 cups powdered sugar, 1/8 (+) cup milk, and replaced the vanilla with a few drops mint extract to taste.
When cupcakes are cooled, cut them in half horizontally.
Frost center of cupcake according to taste. My husband and I think the buttercream is fairly rich, so we do just a small amount. However, make sure to frost it all the way to the edge and even a little over.
Crush the candy canes with a small hammer or meat tenderizer.
Put cupcake halves together and roll frosted edges in crushed candy canes. Add a dollop of frosting to the top for pizazz.

Visit thecsiproject.com

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 10:19 pm

    This looks WAY too good. Way, way too good. This would make nice valentine cupcakes for the classroom kids. oh, for me, too, of course.Best wishes, Linda

  2. January 6, 2011 12:20 am

    Hi, I'm following you back. Stop by and add your blog to the Blogging Hints directory.

  3. January 6, 2011 3:19 am

    Hi!! I'm your newest follower from the blog hop! You can find me at http://www.bouffeebambini.blogspot.comI've got some great handmade giveaways so take a peek when you drop by:)I love these cupcakes. I'm going to make a similar thing with brownies

  4. January 6, 2011 6:55 am

    Always looking for fun new ways to use up those leftover candy canes. Excellent!Glad I hopped over from Truly Simply Pink. Stop on by and follow my antics at http://www.kickstandup.blogspot.com/

  5. January 6, 2011 3:11 pm

    That is mouth watering!Following your lovely blog and inviting you to add this at http://olahmomma.com/momlounge – a mommy blogger directory and more, where you can also meet more mom bloggers like you and get connected with them by visiting your profile after registration. You can also add there your giveaways and business links; get featured by sharing your crafts, recipes and interesting musings.Following us back is deeply appreciated. Thanks and have a great day!http://olahmomma.com — blogging and connecting blogging moms.{all moms welcome}

  6. January 6, 2011 8:39 pm

    What a great idea, I never thought of doing that!! I am a follower and would love to have you follow me back–thanks :)The Farm Girlthefarmgirlrecipes.blogspot.com

  7. January 8, 2011 8:16 pm

    How fun are those! I bet they were very yummy! Thank you for sharing your tutorial!Thanks for linking up to Making It With Allie! I can't wait to see what you have for next week!AllieMakes.Blogspot.com

  8. January 8, 2011 11:19 pm

    Hi!! This is way cute!! I am highlighting you on my top 15 V-day crafts thus far!SIMPLE AS 1-2-3http://simpleas1-2-3.blogspot.com/

  9. January 11, 2011 2:54 pm

    How fun! I love the idea of cutting them and then adding a layer! I'm definitely saving this recipe for next year!

  10. January 12, 2011 10:59 pm

    Oh, these look amazing! I love chocolate and mint together. And what a great way to use up candy canes.Thanks for adding them to Cupcake Tuesday!~Liz

  11. January 14, 2011 2:08 pm

    YUM, YUM, YUM!!!! This looks absolutely DELICIOUS! Thanks for linking up to Fun w/ Food Friday @ Paisley Passions. Hope you stop by again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

