Skip to content

Why I Gave Up on Sewing

January 8, 2011

When I was a kid, I was in 4-H for a time. It was really quite a lot of fun hanging out with my friends and learning new skills. Our club focused on sewing and cooking.
But I just couldn’t seem to get the hang of sewing. I completed one project, I remember: a felt needle case. I sewed a smaller piece of green felt to some yellow felt with about four stitches. I finished off the project with a strip of gold sequins.
One of our big projects was to create an apron. This would be helpful for our cooking section. I recall taking a trip to Wal-Mart and picking out all of the necessary fabric and notions. I remember choosing a fabric sprinkled with smiley faces. It was all the rage at the time.
My friend’s mom helped me cut out the pieces and showed me the sewing machine. None of my stitching turned out, though. I spent more time ripping everything I sewed out. Finally my friend’s mom told me I just wasn’t getting it and was holding everyone up. We would simply move on to cooking without me finishing my apron.
That affected me. I assumed I just had absolutely no aptitude for sewing. I refused to even sew a button on after that. I would either pay my sister to do it or get new clothes in order to avoid doing any sewing myself.
I don’t blame my friend’s mother, really, but now I take it upon myself to encourage young ones in whatever they want to learn. I give them pointers and help, but I try to never tell them that they just can’t get it. That they need to move on to something else.
This year I’ve taken up sewing again. And you know what? It’s not too hard. I mean, so far nothing I’ve created is perfect. A lot of times I need my husband to help me understand the directions or lay out my cutting (he’s a carpenter; he’s good at this geometry stuff). But I think I’m finally getting it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 11:57 pm

    you can do it!!! i just started sewing this year too, it's ticked me off a few times, but hopefully we both just get better!!! like i always tell my kiddos, you have to practice. xx

  2. January 11, 2011 3:44 am

    YAY!!! We have a similar story but mine was my mother and for girl scouts! But its funny I have taught myself. And i go to my hubby for help understanding the patterns! lol I do blame my mom! lol! check out my blog. http://www.confessionsofbethany.comlove the blog and the newest follower

Leave a Reply

