Skip to content

DIY Gift Bag

January 19, 2011
Don’t Forget! Today’s the last day to enter my giveaway for a set of handcrafted vintage-inspired notecards here. Ends tonight at 10 pm PST.
One of my favorite things in life is a gift bag. I like wrapping paper, but I am really terrible at folding it correctly, and generally my packages end up looking like they contain a football because I messed up a wrapping.
So gift bags are a wonderful compromise for me. They come in pretty much any style, so I’m always set, no matter what the occasion: wedding, baby shower, anniversary. And people can reuse them if they want. I know I do. If you give me a gift in a gift bag, trust me, I am holding on to that bag, so I can pass it on someday.

However, the other day at a new quilt shop I was given my fabric in a fantastic little brown bag. Very plain, but oh so much potential. So, for my friend’s baby gift I decided I had to decorate up that little brown bag. I used paper from the Animal Crackers matstack by Premium Stacks and some leftover ribbon. Turned out pretty cute, I think. Not too baby, and not too gender-specific.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2011 8:19 pm

    This is so cute. I hope you post more gift bag ideas!

  2. January 30, 2011 8:04 pm

    This is such a darling idea! So cute! I too am a fellow gift bag lover. I just bought some plain white bags at the dollar store-how perfect is this idea to dress them up!Thanks for the inspiration!I can't wait to check out the rest of your blog. Have a fabulous weekend. Please, stop by sometime and say hi!

Leave a Reply

