Skip to content

Fun and Flouncy Purse

January 28, 2011

I know, I know, I know. You all are going to get quite tired of me singing the praises of “One Yard Wonders” by Rebecca Yaker and Patricia Hoskins. But check out this really cute bag that I made from directions in the book!
This is based off the “flouncy bag” designed by Nina Perkins. I chose a sparkly teal and brown fabric. It really lent itself to this project because it’s so flirty and fun. I also managed to find some matching giant buttons which I sewed on as embellishments.
Of course, I made a few variations. I left out any ribbon. I decided not to use it to organize the inside (I kinda like big giant messes for purses, actually.), so I didn’t bother getting any for the strap. I also changed how I put the pieces together a little bit, which seemed to make it a little easier. To create my ovals, I made one on my computer and printed it out. This made a super simple template.
However, I do think this was a little advanced for a beginner. At least, I had some trouble with the gathers. But it all came together quite beautifully. Tell me what you think.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=000000&IS2=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=0000FF&t=nintstrenoti-20&o=1&p=8&l=as4&m=amazon&f=ifr&asins=1603424490
10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2011 2:23 am

    This is adorable! Love it!!

  2. January 29, 2011 3:45 pm

    Cute bag! Following you from Saturday's hop. Enjoy the day.Debbie from nofiltermom.blogspot.com

  3. January 29, 2011 4:48 pm

    That is so cute!I just found your blog through a Saturday blog hop. Have a great weekend!Amanda @ http://www.nutritionistreviews.com

  4. January 29, 2011 4:59 pm

    Very cute and original purse. I am stopping by from the Creative Weekend Blog Hop. Glad I found you I am sure I will be learning lots of new things from your posts. Have a GREAT weekend.Lauriehttp://lauriethoughts-reviews.blogspot.com/

  5. January 29, 2011 8:42 pm

    Hello,I am a new follower from Stepping By Saturday. I would love a follow back athttp://megankayden.blogspot.com/

  6. January 29, 2011 9:15 pm

    Great project, love the fabric!

  7. January 30, 2011 2:00 am

    I was blog hopping and could resist your title flouncy purse! What a visual treat! I like your purse! 🙂

  8. January 31, 2011 7:56 pm

    I love how yours turned out!Andrea @ TheTrainToCrazy.com

  9. February 3, 2011 3:14 pm

    so cute, thanks for link to my party.

  10. March 31, 2011 5:10 pm

    I'm currently helping my daughter make this bag.Just wondering – do you find the opening rather small for pulling things out? Thanks.

Leave a Reply

