Skip to content

How to Create a Unique Postcard Souvenir

February 4, 2011
Are you like me and constantly planning a new trip? I love to travel, and I don’t get to do quite enough of it. But I like to be prepared. So I often do research on places to visit, things to do, places to eat, and more.
When I do visit a place I have a blast exploring new locations, interesting cuisines, and absurd tourist traps. And I tend to pick up a lot of postcards. They’re small, compact, and a snapshot of a place. A lot I send out. (which you may remember from this post)
But how to keep some for myself? And have an amazing little rememberance of my trip? The solution is this fun and easy postcard book. This is an especially great project for those of us who think scrapbooking is cool but have no patience or talent for it. 🙂
The first thing to do is collect postcards on your trip. Pick up at least one every day. At the end of the day, write a little bit about your day: what you saw, ate, did. Maybe something about what’s on the postcard. Then, if you really love postmarks and/or stamps, send them to yourself. Otherwise, keep them in your luggage. They’re small, so they won’t take up a lot of room.

When you get home, collect your postcards, some fun ribbon, a little jump ring, and a hole punch.

Punch a hole in the corner of each postcard. Make sure to match the wide sides of each card as well as try to make sure they all go in the same direction.

Put the cards on the ring, tie the ribbon to the ring for pizazz, and read through your adventures. You’ll enjoy the memories in a compact and unique way. It’s also a great little souvenir to keep out on your coffee table. Guests can flip through it, learn more about your travels, and admire the fun postcards you found.



7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2011 2:15 pm

    Fantastic idea!

  2. February 4, 2011 2:40 pm

    Very cute idea, I love this!XOLenore

  3. February 5, 2011 4:42 am

    Nifty neat idea! My cousin loves to collect postcards, I will need to pass your idea on to her. Please consider sharing your idea with my followers by linking up to my blog bash K.I.S.S. on Sunday. Happy to be a new follower. :)http://thetatteredtag.blogspot.com

  4. February 5, 2011 1:25 pm

    Neat idea! And one that is actually doable by regular, normal people! LOL! Thanks for sharing…I may try it.

  5. February 5, 2011 5:31 pm

    Nice pictures.. I am your new follower from saturday blog hop. Its http://singlemotheronthego.blogspot.com/I hope you could follow back. Thank you

  6. February 9, 2011 6:57 am

    Thanks so much for linking up to my blog bash K.I.S.S. I appreciate your inspiring ideas. 🙂 Please link up again on Sunday.http://thetatteredtag.blogspot.com

  7. February 15, 2011 5:39 am

    I share your passion for travel, for adventuring and sampling the globe. Now that my girls are getting a little older, I'm hoping that my husband and I can start planning more family trips to take the girls to see the world. I love your idea for the postcard book! What a beautiful way to chronicle your trip in words and pictures! Thank you so much for linking up with "A Little Birdie Told Me…"! Here's to more travel in 2011 for the both of us! Jenn

Leave a Reply

