Skip to content

The Great Football Cake Disaster

February 6, 2011
So I saw in all of the grocery store ads cupcake cakes all decked out for the Super Bowl. Some were shaped like footballs, others had little doodads on top, and some were shaped like football fields.
I decided I had to try making one for our Super Bowl party. Note: I have absolutely no decorating experience.
I was leaning toward for a field-style cake. It’s simple lines, rectangular, etc. My husband wanted one shaped like a football because he felt it would be easier to get the color – just use chocolate frosting. Makes sense.
I should not have let him convince me of that.
First of all, I have no idea how you’re supposed to get round cupcakes to arrange themselves into a football shape.
Secondly, my frosting turned out kinda crazy. It had butter chunks in it. But we managed to frost them all together, filling in a couple of gaps with extra cake.
Third happening: drawing the stripes. Already the shape was a artistic interpretation. The lines proved a little tricky. The first lines we drew ended up looking more like Arabic. So we scraped them off and came up with this:

Something that sort of resembles a football. I was a little disappointed. I threatened to send it off to homeless people. But instead I’ve decided to open it up to ridicule at the party. And here in the internet world…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 7:10 pm

    I actually think you did a great job!Stopping from SITS!

  2. February 10, 2011 7:18 pm

    aww, that doesn't look horrible! I can totally tell what it's supposed to be! :)Next year you will ave had the practice and it will be even better, lol!Bernadettehttp://momto2poshlildivas.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

