Skip to content

How to Sew a Button: A Book Review

February 9, 2011
My friend bought me the book How to Sew a Button and Other Nifty Things Your Grandmother Knew by Erin Bried for my first anniversary. It was a joke referencing the fact that I didn’t sew anything. If my husband needed a button put back on, he did it himself.
But I read the book cover to cover. Erin has a very amusing writing style. I especially loved the quotes from the grandmas she interviewed for the book. They have such a unique perspective and provide a real glimpse into what their lives were like.
The skills taught in the book are also very useful. They’re the kinds of things that have been forgotten, but are really fantastic to know. I have used the directions for sewing a button, making blueberry pancakes, and roasting a whole chicken, to name a few. The directions are easy to follow, and Erin provides little tips that make it all the simpler.
I highly recommend this book to any who want a good laugh, want to learn a few forgotten skills, or want a slightly historical perspective on the home.
Notice of Material Disclosure: These opinions are my own and unpaid. I have no connection to the author or publisher.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=000000&IS2=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=0000FF&t=nintstrenoti-20&o=1&p=8&l=as4&m=amazon&f=ifr&asins=0345518756

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 5:36 am

    Dropping by from a very early Thirsty Thursday Blog Hop! Follow back later if you like: pickfamilynonsense.blogspot.com

  2. February 10, 2011 1:44 pm

    That sounds like a fantastic book. I know how to darn a sock.Thank you for popping by my blog on my SITS day.LisaDay

  3. February 10, 2011 2:16 pm

    I have to admit, I don't know how to sew a button. Well, I could figure it out, I'm sure, but you know. 🙂 This is such a cute book idea. I'm already a follower, but I just wanted to stop by anyway. Thanks for participating in Type A Thursday!

Leave a Reply

