Skip to content

My First Fashion Piece

February 16, 2011
My whole goal in learning to sew is to make my own clothes. I find it a tad difficult to find clothes at the store in my size, much less modest enough, or my style.
But up to this point I’ve mostly been making useful practice projects or gifts for other people. I decided I had to try my hand at a skirt.
So I bought a great book called Sew What! It’s basically designed to teach a person how to create just about any style of skirt without buying patterns. It demonstrates how to do zippers versus elastic waistbands. It also gives instructions for A-lines, circles, straights, and much more.
I decided to make the first skirt in the book because it seemed the easiest. It’s a drawstring A-line skirt. The book made it easy to draw it out straight on the fabric using a few simple measurements and sew it into a super cute skirt.

I added a little bit of lime green rickrack around the bottom edge. The drawstring I made out of extra fabric rather than buying it. And voila! Brand-new skirt made to fit for less than $7!

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=000000&IS2=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=0000FF&t=nintstrenoti-20&o=1&p=8&l=as4&m=amazon&f=ifr&asins=1580176259
Notice of Material Disclosure: This review is based on my own unpaid opinions. I have no connection to the author or publisher.
14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 16, 2011 1:58 pm

    Well done on your first skirt! Reminds me of sewing at school – we had to make a school blouse. I was pretty good I think. I wore it for the whole final year there- it had trendy bat wing sleeves 😉 Showing my age there. Shah .X

  2. February 16, 2011 4:11 pm

    Nice job! I love the rick-rack, that just makes it even cuter!

  3. February 16, 2011 11:59 pm

    Looks great! I like to sew, I am afraid to try clothes for myself though.New Follower from the Blog Hopswww.thehickmanfour.blogspot.comwww.touchofhomelearning.com

  4. February 17, 2011 3:21 pm

    Love the skirt!I started my first a line skirt a few months back before we moved and I have not picked it up again. I think I need to did it out and finished.I am your newest follower from Just Married with coupons.

  5. February 17, 2011 3:26 pm

    I have a weekend long blog hop which begins tomorrow if you'd like to link up and meet other creative bloggers, please come along. Its quite new and would value your link. I also do a weekly feature for one lucky participant. This weeks feature is up right now. Questions focus on creativity and you can 'sell' your projects etc too. Either way, great post. I'll by again soon. Shah from wordsinsync.blogspot.com. X

  6. February 17, 2011 7:13 pm

    Hey, saw you on SITS! Great blog and wish I could sew well! I'm a follower!

  7. February 19, 2011 2:05 am

    This looks great. I love the print and the ricrac is a great touch!megancraftycpa.blogspot.com

  8. February 19, 2011 1:32 pm

    Hi, stopping by from the Weekend Creation Hop.I don't think I'd like to make my own clothes – too many pretty ones ready made out there. But I would love to be able to modify clothes. I'm an awkward size too, and finding stuff that fits can be a nightmare!My post is here

  9. February 19, 2011 1:38 pm

    Well done! I always get bored halfway through projects – I'd never have any clothes at all if I tried to make my own.Hopping by from the Weekend Creative Hop. xxx

  10. February 20, 2011 7:46 pm

    Great job! Did you find this book online or at the library? We love out library for this kind of stuff!Thanks for linking up to Making It With Allie! I can't wait to see what you have for next week!AllieMakes.Blogspot.com

  11. February 26, 2011 1:33 am

    That skirt looks great! I am looking for that book right now! Thanks for sharing at Fantastic Friday. I hope that you will join us again this week!

  12. March 5, 2011 6:13 pm

    Cute skirt! Great job!

  13. May 11, 2011 3:48 am

    Cute! =)

  14. May 13, 2011 7:04 pm

    I am afraid to sew after my horrible sewing class experience the summer before 6th grade. We made Nerds, the animal on the candy box. Mine was unfinished and very lopsided at the end of the summer. LOL Poor animal!I can do many things, but I have not tackled sewing. However, I have managed to crochet three afghans and I am great with watercolors and a camera.I have a blog dedicated to my writing. Did I mention I write, yet? LOL That's my main thing.http://norabpeevy.blogspot.com/Found you from the Weekend Creation Blog Hop.-Nora

Leave a Reply

