Skip to content

Why You Should Always Read the Recipe

March 9, 2011
So my husband and I got a great idea – make our own hummus.
How could that not be great? Because hummus is always, always delicious.
So I pulled out my latest issue of Rachael Ray magazine and started making the basic hummus recipe found therein. First of all, I don’t own a food processor, so I used my blender. I piled in chickpeas, garlic, tahini, and fresh lemon juice. Yes, I even bought a fresh lemon for this. (It didn’t hurt that they were three for a dollar.)
I hit the button. My hummus kept looking totally chunky and gross. I piled it into a bowl and mashed it by hand. I added more tahini. I added olive oil. Nothing worked.
Meanwhile, my husband was in the other room trying to build a fire. He was having trouble, so I said, let’s switch. I went over and got the fire going. He added some water to my chunky mess and finally got it to puree.
After I saw his success, I couldn’t believe I couldn’t get the hummus smooth. So I looked at the recipe again and lo and behold, halfway through the recipe it said add a half cup of water.
Why didn’t it list this in the ingredients list? It had even listed salt and pepper there. Agh, I am somewhat ashamed to say that I didn’t really read the whole recipe. So since I had added in more tahini, the hummus was way too sesame-y (is that a word?). I had to add in another can of chickpeas and lemon juice.
In the end, what saved the hummus was roasting some red bell peppers and jalapenos, pureeing those, and stirring them into the hummus.
Someday I hope to learn to remember to read the entire recipe, so I can create tasty foods.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 8:11 pm

    Well that's why it's good to work in pairs, right? Hope you enjoyed your hummus in the end.

  2. March 9, 2011 8:52 pm

    It's so easy to do that. You think you've got it down and whoops missed something. I'm glad it turned out in the end for you!Thanks so much for stopping by on my SITS day! I really like your blog title and design!

Leave a Reply

