Skip to content

Anniversary Dinner

March 10, 2011
For my anniversary I like to splurge and make some terrific meal that I normally would not spend the cash on, but is cheaper than going out to some fancy-schmancy restaurant.
This year I went for some very tasty meat and potatoes. I got my recipes from my cookbook love, Rachael Ray. Of course, I made some changes.
Pancetta-Stuffed Beef Tenderloin with Port Mushrooms
I used diced prosciutto in the stuffing and wrapped it in bacon instead of using pancetta. I have no idea where to find pancetta where I live. I also used a regular red wine instead of port for my mushrooms. My husband says port is gross. Plus, I wasn’t really sure what exactly the recipe was referring to when it called for beef tenderloin, so I used a london broil.

These are basically the best potatoes you will ever eat. I had never had marscapone cheese before, but let me tell you, it’s uh-mazing. So, so, so delicious.
I also made an eclair cake with crepes, but I didn’t take a picture since it completely fell apart. The homemade custard and chocolate sauce still tasted good, though.
And here’s what my kitchen looked like when I was done:

Scary, to say the least. Fortunately for me I have a super amazing husband who cleaned up after the cooking hurricane went through the kitchen.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 7:32 pm

    Looks real yummy!! My husband would probably like it without mushrooms but I am sure he could eat the potatos all by himself. 🙂 Wanted to drop by and let you know that I showcased an item from your Etsy shop today on A Homespun Market Day! Thanks for linking your great shop to The Homespun Slate @ The Tattered Tag. Please drop by and see the post…Drop by The Tattered Tag

  2. March 11, 2011 3:24 am

    Those photos of your steak and potatoes look amazing!! You are making me hungry for sure! And I love that you threw in the photo of the kitchen to show us you are actually human! 🙂 (Stopping by from SITS!)

  3. March 13, 2011 2:09 am

    Looks great Missy.

Leave a Reply

