Skip to content

Sponsor Spotlight: The Orange Owl

March 20, 2011
I want to extend a welcome to the newest sponsor here at Ninth Street Notions,
The Orange Owl.
This beautiful shop has the most delicious-sounding products!
Take, for example,
Thai Surprise Body Butter, a wonderful blend of bay leaves, lemongrass, and ginger. I must admit, I’ve always wanted to smell as if I were from an exotic Asian country instead of Eastern Oregon cow country.

Or can you imagine soaking in Soothing Sea bath salts after a hectic day? A mix of olive oil, colloidal oatmeal, and baking soda with scents of cedarwood, clary sage, lavender, and lemongrass.

The Orange Owl also has an assortment of lip balms and soaps that sound oh-so-amazing. The descriptions of these all-natural and handmade products make my mouth water. Plus, add the fact that these are 100% chemical-free, and you just know these are products that are good for you, too. And good for the earth, since the packaging is either made from 100% post-consumer recycled material or can be recycled.
When I talked to Akshata, I learned that she’s been doing this for two years and loves it! I think that’s one of the biggest testimonials: how much does the person enjoy doing what she does. And it all grew out of a school project! She has masters degress in both nutrition and biochemistry, so her business is a natural pairing.
And since The Orange Owl is such an interesting name, I had to find out how she came up with it. She said, “I was in India and hanging out with my friends and asked them for help. We spent 3 hours working on different Indian names, terms etc for the project, nothing fit right with me. Finally my friend said ok name a color – I said orange, he said name an animal – for about 4 months before this incident, everywhere I went I saw owls and loved them (stuffed, prints everywhere) – so I said owl. And The Orange Owl was born.”
For her, the name means bright and serendipitous. I’m sure you’ll find the same when you visit her great shop. Plus, I’ll let you know a little secret, there’s going to be a giveaway sponsored by The Orange Owl soon!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

