Skip to content

Searching for Work

March 25, 2011
Job searches are the worst. I know that in the current economy a lot of people are in the same boat I am:
Religiously reading the help wanted ads and applying for everything. Turning in applications and resumes all over town. Visiting the employment department often enough they know you by name.
Then – THE CALL. Finally, you get a call for an interview. It becomes a whole new game. What to wear? What questions are they going to ask? Do I have my game face on?
The nervousness, the three layers of deoderant to cover up the sweat, and the palm tingling as you sit, waiting to be called to meet with HR.
And then you get all of the questions. How does this company fit in with your goals? How would you describe the perfect employer. What would you say are your three best qualities? etc. etc. etc.
You think you did okay. Your best qualities are punctuality, making pastries for the office, and all-around goodwill toward your coworkers.
You go home. You wait by the phone. It’s hard to make plans when you don’t know what you’ll be doing next week.
But a day or so later you get another call. It’s THE CALL that says, “Sorry, you were a close second, but we’ve decided to go with someone else.” Or, “We’ve decided not to invite you for the second round of interviews, but we’re glad to have met you.” Or, my favorite, “We went with another applicant, but would you be willing to sub for us?”
And it all begins again…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2011 12:36 pm

    Keep going! It will come. Have you thought about working with an agency that places you…like a temp to hire place?

  2. March 25, 2011 9:11 pm

    Hi! I'm your newest follower from the Midweek mingle blog hop. I look forward to checking out future posts. I'm right there with you. It's definitely a hard time. On another note, I love your blog layout—daisies are my favorite:)Feel free to check out my blog here: inadaze13.blogspot.com.

  3. March 26, 2011 8:36 am

    Ahh I am right there with you honey. And boy have job interviews changed!

  4. March 26, 2011 8:54 pm

    Argh, good luck to you. Job searches are rough. And stressful. And tiring. Here from SITS!

  5. March 27, 2011 4:25 am

    Oh, such a bummer. 😦 Hope you find something soon! I always hated going on interviews. Thank you so much for joining my Weekend Bloggy Reading party. 🙂 Have fun finding a new blog friend or two, and I hope you'll visit me at Serenity Now again soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

