Skip to content

Camping! In April!

March 29, 2011
Camping about 50 miles from the Arctic Ocean

So I love camping. Like, a lot.
Last year’s camping season began in May and lasted through the end of October. I camped in Alaska, the Yukon, British Columbia, and Oregon. I camped on warm days, on cold days, in rain, in snow, in parking lots, and in the middle of nowhere. A couple of mornings I woke up with my sleeping bag frozen to the walls of my tent.
This year I get to start in April. Woot!
Next week I’m headed to a remote area of Oregon. Sure, it’s just a couple of nights, but I am oh-so-excited! I can’t wait to start pulling out my camping gear.
I’m also getting geared up to do some camp cooking. Now, I don’t have a campstove. I do it all over an open fire. Last year I had the opportunity to teach some French tourists how to toast bread using a forked stick over the fire while camping alongside the Denali Highway in Alaska. Can it get much better than that?
What are your favorite camping recipes?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 12:18 pm

    I love camping! I would love to do it in Alaska sometime:) New GFC follower from Blog It Forward Tuesday:)Laurawww.agoddessoffrugality.com

  2. March 29, 2011 4:25 pm

    Wow love all the places you have camped at. Now that my girls are getting older I can not wait to introduce them to camping! Stopping by from "swinging by sunday" to follow and say hello 🙂

  3. March 30, 2011 5:39 am

    Oh you lucky girl, camping already! We love camping as well and the further away from civilization the better. Can't say as I have a favourite camping recipe, just love cooking over an open fire because EVERYTHING tastes so much better! Have a great time and hope it stays warm and dry for you, Deb

Leave a Reply

