Skip to content

Laundry Room Makerover: DIY

June 1, 2011
Certain family members, who shall remain nameless for their own protection, had a disaster going. They called it the laundry room, but I called it a mess.
As you can tell, there was a definite lack of organization. Now, to be fair, part of it wasn’t their fault. The laundry area appears to have been an afterthought in the construction of the house. So it’s tiny, crowded, and had completely messed-up cabinets installed.
Erik and I to the rescue.
We took out those terrible cabinets, and Erik transformed them into workshop storage.
Next we fixed holes, primed, and painted. Erik built beautiful full-length wooden shelves for open storage. I worked on the organizational stuff: I got some very cute baskets at the Dollar Tree. Then I made executive decisions about what got to stay in the laundry area and what had to find a new home. Some items learned their fate was the garbage can. Some simply ended up in a more logical place. Gardening gloves? Don’t necessarily need to be in the laundry room.
I also moved laundry detergents and cleaning supplies from giant, industrial-size containers to cute old canning jars.
And bam! Everything’s easy to find and reach. It’s brighter and more colorful, which almost makes up for having to do the laundry.
What do you think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 6:30 pm

    that looks great! love it. I feel inspired now.

  2. June 2, 2011 9:40 pm

    Can you come and do mine!? lol… Looks beautiful!I am following you from the thirsty thursday blog hop! I hope you can check me out and stick around I have loads of giveaways through out the weekend for my BIRTHDAY BASH! Thank you :)http://mommy2nanny3doggy1.blogspot.com/

  3. June 10, 2011 6:09 pm

    Inspirational, I redid mine a couple months back and I think my husband has been adding his tools and things to it again hmmmm….Would love to see you link up at my new party that will run through Sunday!http://bacontimewiththehungryhypo.blogspot.com/2011/06/party-mindie-style-link-up-1.html

  4. June 11, 2011 4:57 pm

    Love, love, love it! Especially the buckets and glass jars holding detergent. 🙂

  5. June 12, 2011 3:56 am

    Love the new laundry room! It's always a room I close the door and ignore because it looks a lot like your old laundry room. Now I think mine needs and update! Thanks for the ideas!

Leave a Reply

