Skip to content

Sourdough Starter Round-Up

June 8, 2011
I learned from a few of you that you would like to make recipes involving sourdough, too. I personally adore it! Just this week I had tasty sourdough blueberry pancakes. So I’ve created a round-up of some starter recipes to try out. Later I’ll post some round-ups of recipes using your brand-new starter.
Sourdough Starter Recipe
Sourdough Starter by Esther Nelson
This one is very basic. It involves just flour, water, and yeast. Quite a few of the reviewers recommended adding some sugar. I’ve never used one that didn’t involve sugar before, so it might be a good idea. Still, this is great for someone just starting out since it uses just simple ingredients.
Basic Sourdough Starter
This one is even more simple because it relies on the old-school method of picking up yeast from the air. I like this page because it gives a great scientific explanation of what’s going on in your starter and sourdough bread, as well as some history.
Sourdough Starter I Recipe
Sourdough Starter I by Becky Richardson
This one is not for the sourdough purists. It involves mashed potato flakes and yeast. But it might be interesting to try out for a twist on the classic. It got good reviews, except by people who didn’t appreciate its quirkiness.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2011 10:19 am

    You have a wonderful blog!I am following you via Wandering Wednesday blog hop. I am following you every way I can. Stop by my blog and follow however you like.http://itsabouttimemamaw.blogspot.com/

  2. June 9, 2011 10:31 am

    I don't know that I've ever had sourdough pancakes! I must try some!Just stopped by from Thursday’s blog hop. I’m following you now and hope you’ll stop by my blog sometime too! Have a lovely week.Jill @ Creating my way to Success http://www.jembellish.blogspot.com/

  3. June 9, 2011 1:56 pm

    thanks for sharing the recipes! i don't think i have ever used yeast in a recipe, will have to give it a shot.

  4. June 9, 2011 7:38 pm

    Just checking out your great sight! Now following with GFC.

  5. June 10, 2011 4:17 pm

    Found you on blogaholic network. I am following you now and I will add your party button to my party page.ladeedacreations.com

Leave a Reply

