Skip to content

So…

July 13, 2011
So, this is not a big revelation. It was just something I’d thought I’d share with you all.

Because really, I don’t have anything that exciting about me. I admire those bloggers with deep secrets who reveal them to the world – to be accepted, criticized, or whatever might happen. They are strong enough to share their secrets with everyone out in the big wide world of the web. (Side note: does anyone still call it the web?)

But I have no real secrets. Nothing powerful or striking about me. I’m just a regular person, leading a regular life. I love sharing my crafts, projects, and recipes with you all, but that’s about all I have going for me.

Still, I feel a need to share something – anything – with you all. And so, I’ve chosen to let you know that I am allergic to tree nuts.

source: m_bartosch/Free Digital Photos.net
Shocking, I know. Millions of people have the same problem. I’m really not special for that. And honestly, I can’t tell you exactly which ones. You see, I don’t have the cash to be able to go to an allergist. So I have to base my diet decisions on things that I suspect or can directly link.

I can directly pinpoint reactions after eating almonds and pistachios. I know that I’ve had reactions to foods that I couldn’t even figure out what was in it, such as at a restaurant. The itching, the scratchy throat, the congestion in my nose and chest, the coughing, the puffy eyes… 

I know that’s really terrible science, but it’s the best I got right now. Maybe a doctor could tell me more specifically, or even let me know it’s all in my head, which would be a sort of relief.

For now, I simply avoid all tree nuts because it’s what I know to do. 

Source: Maggie Smith/Free Digital Photos.net

So, that’s my story. Nothing exciting. Nothing shocking. Just something I live with. I know my unscientific food avoidance helps because I haven’t any reactions in awhile. I scrupulously read ingredient lists and leave nuts out of things I make.

Any good nut-free recipes to share?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2011 3:37 pm

    You have a lovely blog! I'm visiting from the Monster Blog hop and I'm your newest follower. I'd love it if you followed me back at http://organicplanet.blogspot.com/

  2. July 13, 2011 10:50 pm

    I didn't even realize pistachios fell into that category!! Thank you for sharing! I know several people that are allergic to tree nuts, and its really awful the reaction they get when they eat them! Hope you are having a great week!

  3. July 14, 2011 3:30 am

    I do have secrets, but there is no way I'm revealing them to the world. So, the fact that you don't have any…. I don't know. MAybe you are just lucky?? ;-)Regardless, I really enjoy your blog. I have only been following for a short while, but I keep coming back!

  4. July 15, 2011 12:01 am

    Secrets are overrated anyway. Sorry about the nuts though- almonds are delicious.

  5. July 15, 2011 6:43 am

    Be careful with those nuts! Allergies are such a bother.Visiting from SITS!

Leave a Reply

