Skip to content

A New Handmade Dress

July 15, 2011
One of the main reasons I decided to learn to sew was to be able to make clothing for myself. Sometimes it’s hard for me to find things that fit, are modest, and that I actually like.


So far I’ve only made a few pieces. But I wanted to share with you a super fun dress that I recently made. It’s a basic summer dress with circle skirt. I made it with a great yellow gingham that had cute little daisies printed on it.

I also made a matching belt (which I made up entirely out of my own head). I used orange fabric to make a flower and covered a button with the yellow gingham for the center.

Unfortunately it was a little breezy when we took the photos, but you get the idea. What do you think?

By the way, I used a pattern from the super fabulous book, Chic and Simple Sewing by Christine Haynes. I definitely recommend it. I bought it from Amazon.com and have no connection to the author or publisher.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?lt1=_blank&bc1=000000&IS2=1&bg1=FFFFFF&fc1=000000&lc1=0000FF&t=nintstrenoti-20&o=1&p=8&l=as4&m=amazon&f=ifr&ref=ss_til&asins=0307451097
9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 1:04 pm

    Wow! This seems like just the dress for you, and the belt is so spot-on, giving it exactly that little personal touch it might have needed. Impressive!!

  2. July 15, 2011 1:44 pm

    Very cute!

  3. July 15, 2011 3:27 pm

    What an adorable dress! Thank you for stopping TPH this week!

  4. July 15, 2011 6:05 pm

    Wow, this dress is great! I'm a new follower. Please drop by mine. I'm having a blog hop today.http://www.meldreamsoften.com

  5. July 15, 2011 6:06 pm

    I found you at blogaholic. šŸ™‚

  6. July 15, 2011 6:13 pm

    this dress is too cute! i love that you made it yourself, because I'm a wish-i-could-sew kind of girl myself. thanks for entering my giveaway at the hollie rogue!Andi

  7. July 16, 2011 1:53 am

    I love it! It's so perfect for summer with the yellow and the gingham. ā¤

  8. July 21, 2011 8:55 pm

    I want to learn to sew for the exact same reasons… and to dress my daughters cute and modestly without paying a fortune. Love your dress!!Popping in from SITS!

  9. July 22, 2011 8:35 pm

    I just bought that same book! Super cute dress, and I love the color!

Leave a Reply

