Skip to content

6 Simple Gift Package Ideas

July 27, 2011
I love pretty packaging. I’m not afraid to admit that when I see something at the store in interesting packaging, I am way more enticed to buy it.

At the same time, though, I am terrible at packaging up my own gifts. For some reason I can’t seem to be able to fold wrapping paper correctly. I usually end up stuffing gifts in bags. Easy peasy.

But I decided to challenge myself. Using just little items I found around my house, I wanted to see if I, even I, could come up with cute packaging. My canvas was a box wrapped in a brown paper bag. I crumpled the paper first to create texture.

Here are six pretty packaging ideas:

This just used some little twigs wrapped up in a twine bow. I used a fun swirl made from copper wire to add brightness.

This one is great because it even smells good. I love evergreen.s

I decided to make the packaging part of the gift here. I attached a small pair of earrings with some brown twine. Earrings are from Reedmor Jewelry.

Does anyone else have an abundance of buttons hanging around the place? This one is simple, but it’s cute. The different size buttons are what create interest here.

This one is just adorable, I think. It’s some eyelet edging that was left over from a dress I made. The bright yellow button is so cheerful.

This one is probably my favorite. I used small shells that I found on a beach trip and attached them with some brown hemp cord. It’s simple but it brings a summer smile to my face.
So what do you think? What are your favorite packaging ideas?
9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2011 7:30 am

    Now I want to buy some gifts, mainly because I want to try this! It's great, it shows someone has put effort in it!!

  2. July 27, 2011 4:23 pm

    I would love to get any of these!!! Wonderful ideas. Love the evergreen one.Lots of yummy love,Alex aka Ma What's For Dinnerwww.mawhats4dinner.com

  3. July 27, 2011 9:47 pm

    Aww! Loving these!

  4. July 28, 2011 12:28 am

    Hello, thanks for entering our giveaway today.The packages look fun and you have a great blog here!Lesa @ Mailbox Moments

  5. July 28, 2011 6:51 am

    Aloha from Hawaii!!! New follower here via the blog hop…. What gorgeous packaging ideas…. Hope you're having an amazing week!!! 🙂 – http://www.OliviaBlueMusic.com/

  6. July 28, 2011 3:31 pm

    I love the one with the buttons! So sweet and perfect for a handmade gift! This post is inspiring me to go beyond my typical gift bows! Thanks for the ideas!I'm a new follower too!Amanda @ PandiolaLane.blogspot.com

  7. July 28, 2011 6:14 pm

    these are fabulous – as much as i love creating and embellishing packages I find myself restoring to the bag at the last minute…sigh….thanks for the inspiration sweet bella, keep shining! stopping by via SITS 🙂

  8. July 28, 2011 7:12 pm

    Amazing! I love what you did! I often use newspaper or junk paper from the mail to wrap gift! Have a great week-end!

  9. August 1, 2011 6:08 am

    Those are great ideas especially since I never seem to have wrapping paper on hand. I am a new follower from the Boost Your Blog Summer giveaway. Visit my daughter and I at our blog, Says Me Says Mom (http://saysmesaysmom.blogspot.com where we talk about anything and everything.

Leave a Reply

