Skip to content

Music to Sew By

August 5, 2011
I don’t know about you, but I love to have music playing while I sew. I actually kinda NEED music to sew. Especially when I get to the lame ironing parts.

I listen to a wide variety of music. But I must admit, there is a certain genre that I go back to again and again.

It’s classic rock.

I know. It’s true.

My husband hates classic rock. He works in construction, and he says he’s very tired of hearing it. Sewing is something I usually do when he’s not around, so it’s the perfect time to listen to my old favorites.

More than that, though, classic rock just gives me the right rhythm. I cannot think of anything that  keeps me moving as well as Aerosmith, Twisted Sister, Whitesnake, or Cream.

Picture this: Me at the machine, piecing together a little baby dress and yelling out the lyrics to “Crazy Train.” Or maybe “Rock You Like a Hurricane.” Presents a bit of a contrast. And yes, those are two regulars on my sewing playlist.

What do you listen to when you craft? What gives you the right beat to get through a project?


And I leave you with this, perhaps the ultimate sewing song:


And I may or may not employ some of those dance moves while ironing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2011 7:13 pm

    Yep, that music works for me.

  2. August 9, 2011 12:41 am

    Haha! Yes! That's exactly the kind of music I like to work to!MandyDrapesOfWrath.etsy.comDrapesOfWrathApron.blogspot.comBehindTheDrapes.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

