Skip to content

Queen-Size Duvet Cover

August 31, 2011
My sister-in-law recently got married. When I received the invitation I knew immediately that I wanted to make a duvet cover.

I also knew that I wanted to mimic a pattern I had already seen out there in Bloggy Land.

(Sorry the pics aren’t great. Light was not with me.)

This is, of course, my attempt at the projects by Tam of Sew Dang Cute and Mandi of Vintage Revivials. Theirs turned out a little better than mine, but I like mine anyways.

Probably the biggest difference is the size. I used Tam’s measurements as a guideline, but I needed mine to be queen-size. So I went for 88″x88″. However, geometry is not my best subject, so it took me forever to figure out the best way to do that. It took me even longer to cut out the pieces.

Once I began sewing, none of my pieces fit together right, either. But with a little bit of adjustment, it ended up looking a-okay.

I also didn’t use chiffon. I tried. I really did. Especially since I had to travel 2 1/2 hours to find a shop that sold chiffon.

It didn’t work.

Instead I had a meltdown. You know that seen in Julie & Julia where Julie is lying on the kitchen floor with a raw chicken? That was me and the chiffon. Except mine segued to yelling at the chiffon and throwing it around. Fortunately chiffon does not have high impact on walls and lamps.

So I decided to use cotton. It worked a lot better for me. 

And eventually the duvet cover was done. I mailed it off, and hopefully my sister-in-law likes it.




5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 5:38 pm

    It turned out great! I follow Mandi over at Vintage Revivals as well. She is awesome and I know what duvet cover you are talking about. I love yours just as much as hers:) Found you on EBT:)

  2. August 31, 2011 7:37 pm

    Great job! Sorry about the chiffon (and the meltdown). Yours turned out fabulous!!! Hope the happy couple likes it.

  3. August 31, 2011 8:47 pm

    I love the idea of having a tantrum and throwing around chiffon–like, that just encapsulates my sewing experience in a nutshell.Despite the issues you had, the finished product looks lovely!

  4. August 31, 2011 9:31 pm

    I think it looks great! I can barely sew a pillow cover, so I'm super impressed that you made a duvet!

  5. September 2, 2011 1:30 am

    That is so vey beautiful. What a lovely present to give.

Leave a Reply

