Skip to content

Oktoberfest Dinner!

October 24, 2011
My husband and I began an annual tradition during our first year of marriage. Erik’s family is German, and so we started having Oktoberfest each year.

The first year was small, and we really had no idea what we were doing. But it was so delicious anyways, we knew we had to have it again.

This October, our third year, I think we finally got everything figured out just right.

We invited four other couples, including my parents to our feast. At the last minute an out-of-town friend arrived, and of course, the more the merrier! We had our guests bring the beer.


My mother brought sauerkraut that she had made about a month ago. That gave it plenty of time to ferment. She also made German Potato Salad for the first time, and it was fantastic!

Erik made giant Bavarian pretzels. He loves to make them, and they are oh-so-good. We served them with various mustards, including some Erik had made from scratch.

I, in turn, made red cabbage. It’s tangy, sweet and sour. Find the recipe I used here. It’s tasty. I also made spaetzle for the first time. I was a little scared, but it turned out so so yummy. Here’s the recipe I used. Fortunately the colander I had worked just great for pushing out the dough into the salted water. I also made my husband’s favorite, Black Forest Cake, for dessert. But sorry – no pictures of that.

What fall traditions do you have in your family?


One Comment leave one →
  1. October 24, 2011 1:50 am

    That sounds like a blast! What a feast too. 😉

Leave a Reply

